Going places, stepping up

The other day someone marked some recent achievements by saying: “This is great!   You are finally going somewhere in the world! This is really a step up!”.  I thanked them for their compliment and kinds words, but I was surprised to find I was a bit miffed by the concepts and it has taken me a while to work out why.

Firstly: going places.  You see, I am going places but always have been.  Perhaps not very far, or very fast, or to anywhere particularly special but I’m always learning and exploring with little achievements along the way.   I may not be taking the most direct route or the most prestigious path, but I’ve always been running along with more than enough to do, with the feeling that life is full.

Secondly: a step up.  I’d never thought there might be steps to go up.  There will always be people who have done more and better, but also others who have done less and worse at various things.  But a step up suggests I’ve been sub-par or perhaps held back, and I haven’t.  Not due to anyone or anything other than myself, at least.  I’ve got better and improved at a lot of things – just like everyone else.  There are more things that I want too.  But there are opportunities and working to earn things is part of it, and not a step below.  I’m not rich but I’m certainly not poor, I’m generally pretty happy and healthy, I work hard and have been lucky, I have a wonderful family, M and friends.  How could I step up from that?

So thank you for your comments, friend, they really made me think.  I’m always going places and I can’t see the steps, but now I appreciate it all the more.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

