The book that keeps giving

Julia Cooke is the author of a new children’s picture book, My Little World, illustrated by Marjorie Crosby-Fairall. This post is part of her blog tour which you can follow here.

I wrote My Little World as an assignment, and my highest hope for it was a good mark. I received a great mark, and now, years later, as it gradually became a real book, it has given me so, so much more. I learned about all sorts of things: how a book is made, a bit about marketing, design, editing and learned to write for new purposes such as the teacher’s notes. I made many new friends and caught up with others I haven’t seen for too long. The publisher’s advance bought me my beloved camera that has brought me so much pleasure. My Little World has taught me about the benefits of working collaboratively and through this more about what to hold on to and when to let go. I gained some media experience and thoroughly enjoyed radio and newspaper interviews. I’ve been overwhelmed by the generosity of researchers who helped with illustration references and lovely comments from family, friend and reviewers. For the last several months, each day My Little World gives me something new or exciting. I know that won’t last forever, but right now, it is just wonderful.

Title: My Little World
Author: Julia Cooke
Illustrator: Marjorie Crosby-Fairall
Publisher: Omnibus Books, $26.99
Publication Date: April 2011
ISBN: 9781862917903
Format: Hard cover
For ages: 4+

This entry was posted in art, people. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

