Rain

It has been so terribly dry recently.  So many plants have died or sacrificed most of their leaves just to survive.  The ground was cracking in places, and I was uselessly spreading mulch to retain moisture that wasn’t there.  I wished it would rain.  I wished it would rain.  And then came an exciting afternoon of thunder and lightening.  I walked home below flashes and crashes and made it to the door just before the rain came.  Good long steady rain.  All day and all night for a whole week.  I have a mountain of washing to do, but there is no point because it won’t dry.  The carpet feels slightly damp underfoot and his study smells musty.  I wish it would stop raining.  I wish it would stop raining.  It doesn’t matter that I’ve changed from wishing it would rain, to wishing it would stop because my wishes don’t impact the rain.

I saw some actors pretending to be a rainy storm in a play recently.  Fingers clicking at the end of falling arms made the path and noise of raindrops.  Wonderful.

This entry was posted in people, socks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

